June 19, 2008

House of Dark Shadows & Watcher in the Woods

House of Dark Shadows and Watcher in the Woods are books one and two in the Dreamhouse King series by Robert Liparulo.

In first book of the series, House of Dark Shadows, the reader follows the King family as they moved to a small town and buy a house in the middle of the woods. Soon after moving in they family, especially the two sons Xander and David, began to notice weird things. The house seems to change size and sounds come from the wrong directions. Then one night a man suddenly appears in the house and scares the family. When the family decides to check the house out they discover a hallway that leads to different worlds. Next thing the King family knows the man is back and kidnaps the mother and takes off to the different worlds.

The second book, Watcher in the Woods, deals with the family trying to find the mother while not getting killed themselves. While trying to come up with a plan and figure out the house and different worlds, the family deals with problems in the town and find that someone has been watching the house and them from the woods. The second book ends in a cliffhanger and I'm anxiously awaiting the release of the third book in the series.

I really enjoy thrillers and mysteries and enjoyed this book immensely. What I like the best was that there was no foul language or sexual situations. There is some blood and violence, but not a lot and not very descriptive. This book is geared more to teens but I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys mysteries.

1 comment:

  1. I am not sure I'd enjoy these books. I used to love horror novels, but not anymore.


Thanks for joining our discussion of this book!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...